• Recent Posts

Setting Goals to Get to Pebble

Contributing Blogger: Samantha Smith, participant, The First Tee of Greater Houston

When I learned that I was selected for the 2012 Nature Valley First Tee Open, I was super excited: not even having five Final Exams could settle me down!

Having taken classes at The First Tee, I’ve learned the importance of setting goals to reach my dreams. One of my goals was to have fewer putts per round, which would inevitably bring my scoring average down. I was able to get my average putts per round down to 29, and I felt I was ready to apply for this year’s event.

Now that I am in the event, I have been playing every week in qualifiers and tournaments to put what I’ve learned under pressure and into action. I’ve also been doing my TPI exercises for the PLAYer Advanced Academy, as well as going to Ace classes every Saturday to work on various parts of my game.

Getting to play Pebble Beach has been a dream of mine for many years. I can still remember watching reruns of Tiger Woods’s impeccable win in the 2000 US Open at Pebble Beach.  I can also remember watching my brother play in this event in 2010, and to have the chance to see the course from a player’s perspective is truly a dream come true.

Meeting other First Tee participants from around the country and Champion’s Tour players that have accomplished numerous feats throughout their careers is just as exciting.  I’m sure my meeting-and-greeting skills will get great use!

I am so grateful and honored to have been selected, and I would like to thank Nature Valley for supporting this great event each year.  Also, I must thank the First Tee for having this event, and for getting me started in golf.

2 Responses

  1. I’m almost as excited as you are, Sam. I willl be cheering you on from Sugar Land! Mr. Roger

  2. Good luck, Sam. I wish that I could be with you. Alex and I will be watching and cheering. I’m very proud of you. LOVE, Mom

Leave a Reply

