• Recent Posts

The Best Day of My Life

Contributting Blogger: Trevor Bernier, participant, the First Tee of Massachusetts

Today was the second round of The First Tee Open at Pebble Beach.  It was an amazing experience and one of the best days of my life.  I started the day off by waking up at 8:30 because of my late tee time at 12:33.  When I woke up I got ready for the day and walked out of the hotel and ate breakfast by the beach.   Next I went to the driving range to warm up and try to fix my troubles from yesterday.  I was hitting the ball great and was very excited to start the round.  My caddy, Carlos, who is a local volunteer, met me at the range and I practiced my pitch and chip shots.   After this we went to the practice green at Pebble Beach, where I worked on my stroke next to some of the greatest players in golf. 

I went to the hospitality room to get some lunch where I met some amateurs and talked to them about the amazing views of Pebble Beach.   I practiced putting for a few more minutes then headed off to the tenth tee.  When I watched the groups in front of me go out I began to realize how amazing this experience was.  Standing at the tee looking out at the beach and the ocean is a sight I will remember for the rest of my life.  My round started off well and my pro and I shared stories and talked about our favorite baseball team, the Boston Red Sox.  I am so lucky to have been paired with Mike Reid, who is one of the nicest people I have ever met.  He taught me so much in the past couple days such as how to conduct myself in a tournament round of golf and how to read these Pebble Beach greens.   Finishing my round with a few great holes and watching Mr. Reid make an eagle on #6 was something I will never forget.

The past two days have been unbelievable and I am so grateful that I got a chance to play in this extraordinary tournament.  I want to thank Nature Valley for being the title sponsor of this event and making it possible for the juniors to play.  I am also thankful for the amateurs who played and Pebble Beach for allowing us to play the course.  Without their support I could have never had this life changing opportunity.  This trip has been a dream come true and I am so grateful that I got to play.

One Response

  1. I experimented with looking at your website with my new iphone 4 and the format does not seem to be correct. Might wanna check it out on WAP as well as it seems most cellphone layouts are not working with your web site.

Leave a Reply

