• Recent Posts

Feeling Like a Winner after the Final Round

Contributing Blogger:  Austin Landis, participant, The First Tee of the Children’s Course

At the start of the week winning the golf tournament wasn’t even registered in my brain, being a second time player of this event I knew how hard it is to make the cut and that was my only goal! Playing with a fellow Oregonian Bob Gilder I knew a couple of good ol’ boys like us could easily make the cut we just had to ham and egg it with the best of them!

Shooting 66 the first two rounds landed us at 12 under and T-7th! I knew it would be really hard to catch the lead so I just wanted to go out there and enjoy my last round at pebble beach in this tournament and take it all in! Missing a 4 foot birdie putt on the very first hole left me with a sour taste in my mouth that would quickly be removed with birdies on 6,7, and the 8th holes! With my partner birdying 9 we were only 6 shots back of the lead!

I hit a wedge shot to about two feet on the tough 11th hole and we moved to 18 under par! My partner and I went through a cold spell as we both pared about 5 consecutive holes missing out on many opportunities to make birdies the beautiful 17th comes atlast! With my pro hitting his ball in the hazard left I needed to hit a good shot! I pulled 6 iron and my pro told me to hit 5 so I listened! I might of hit the best 5 iron of my life right at the pin and it flew over the green! We both make bogey and then the 18th hole it is! I hit a drive right in between the two trees in the center of the fairway and find myself blocked by the second! I hit a cut driver off the deck over the ocean and back to the fairway! Hit my short shot on the green and sunk a birdie putt that I will never forget! Tears coming to my eyes and cheers all around I walked off feeling like a winner.

Leave a Reply

