• Recent Posts

First Round at the 2011 Nature Valley First Tee Open

Contributing Blogger: Abraham Bell, participant, The First Tee of St. Johns County
 
Today I participated in the first round of The Nature Valley First Tee Open at Pebble Beach.  My tee time wasn’t until 12:33 pm so we had some waiting to do. At about 8:00 am this morning, my chaperone/caddy and I went to the tournament Hospitality Center, where I had a great omelette. Following my excellent breakfast, we went out to the driving range and I had a great warm up session with a bucket of BRAND NEW Pro V 1s, followed by some practice around the short game area where I chipped and hit some bunker shots. I’m going to be honest after my great warmup, I was pretty pumped.  After my warmup, we took about a twenty minute drive down to Del Monte Golf Club, where I spent the last twenty minutes before my tee time getting used to the greens. 
 
For today’s round, I was paired with Champions Tour Pro Bill Glasson (who I will play with tomorrow as well), former CEO of Outback Steakhouse, Chris Sullivan, and the CEO of Florida National Bank, Jack Uible.  At 12:33, the starter announced our names and Mr. Glasson striped one down the fairway and we were off. On the fourth hole a 165 yd. par 3, into the wind, Mr. Uible hit a 3 hybrid, right at the pin, after a second we heard a roar from the crowd, the ball fell into the cup for a HOLE-IN-ONE!  This was the first hole-in-one I ever witnessed and it was in a tournament round! 
 

Abraham Bell from The First Tee of St. Johns County played his first round with Bill Glasson at Del Monte

My pro partner played pinpoint golf the whole front nine hitting nothing but fairways and greens, meanwhile I saw the WHOLE front nine including 5 trees. We were 3 under heading into the par 5 17th and Mr. Glasson hit the green in 2 and left the eagle putt just short and made birdie. We ended up shooting 68 at Del Monte Golf Course and I was very happy with my pro partner’s play. Tomorrow, we tee off on the 10th hole at Pebble Beach at 8:03 am and although I didn’t play great today, I’m determinded to put at least a couple of birdies on my scorecard to help my team make the cut.

 
The Nature Valley First Tee Open at Pebble Beach has given me the chance to fulfill one of my dreams to play the one of the greatest golf courses in the world, the scenic Pebble Beach Golf Links. It has been the trip of a lifetime and i am very grateful for getting the opportunity to be here.  I want to thank Nature Valley for being such gracious hosts and for sponsoring this great event. I also would like to thank the amateurs such as Mr. Sullivan and Mr. Uigle for supporting this great event as well.
 
As for tonight, I will be dreaming about nothing but birdies tomorrow!
Leave a Reply

