• Recent Posts

Sportsmanship by Will Bishop at Legends and Leaders Dinner

Will Bishop

When I think of sportsmanship, I think of treating the people I play with as I would like to be treated. Being a good sport means being gracious to your opponents and the people around you whether you win or lose. In every sport, you will witness sportsmanship, sometimes good sometimes bad. Last year in this event, I was paired with David Eger. On number 8 at Pebble Saturday (our 17th hole), Mr. Eger had made one of his few bogeys of the tournament. Despite making the bogey, he came over to help me read my putt, which was for par. I went on to make the putt, but the thing that sticks out in my mind was the sportsmanship he showed towards me. He could have just walked on to the next hole after making his bogey, but instead he helped me read my putt. He was gracious to the people around him even though he had a bad hole. As most of you all know, a few weeks ago Dustin Johnson faced one of the harshest realities in golf, breaking the rules. Not only did he break the rules, but the infraction cost him a chance at winning his first major, a chance to prove that he could win a major after his train wreck here at Pebble Beach during the U.S. Open and not to mention, $1,079,166.67. After all of that, he showed true sportsmanship by accepting the penalty, gratefully shaking the hand of his playing partner Nick Watney, and talking to the media right after stepping out of the shower; keep in mind the guy is only 25 years old. It takes a lot of guts and maturity to do that. When I saw all of that going on, I thought man, if that happens to me one day, I sure hope I act like that. I’m not sure how much he knows about the first tee, but that day he demonstrated the first tee qualities perfectly. He was respectful to the rules official, he was honest about grounding his club in the bunker, and he showed spectacular sportsmanship. I think we can all take a lesson from the way Dustin Johnson handled himself that day. Despite all of the things that didn’t go his way, he still found it in himself to be a sport, a good loser. Harry Sheehy once said, “It is your response to winning and losing that makes you a winner or a loser.” No matter how cliché it might be, Dustin Johnson was a winner that day because of the way he responded to losing the golf tournament. That is a trait that a lot of people don’t have. Nobody enjoys losing. It is the way that you handle losing that makes you a winner.

 

And in closing, I’d like to thank Jeff Sluman for his sportsmanship last year when he lagged his birdie putt on 18 and didn’t tie Mr. Eger and I.

5 Responses

  1. Will ~ Could you hear our cheering — from way back here at home? You are a talented and all-around outstanding young man. There is not a more genuine or wonderful family than the Bishop Family. Congratulations to all. Lexington is proud of you Will!

  2. I would like to congratulate Will on his supperve golf skill. But i would to note that two nights before he left for pebble beach i did destroy him at basketball in our driveway. But he has me at golf so i applaud him for that. But when he decides to man up and beat me at basketball then i will be jealous ❤ Jay

  3. Will, Congratulations on your accomplishments in golf.

    You do just as well swinging a golf club as you did swinging an axe cutting wood.

    We’re proud of you !

  4. As Will’s Coach at The First Tee Lexington, myself and Will’s family are very proud of him for what he has accomplished on and off the course.

  5. Fine job Will. It is a real talent to complement others while you are in the spotlight. I will share this story with our next Middle School session.

Leave a Reply

