• Recent Posts

One Shot at a Time

Alumni Player, Preston Schaub

I have so many wonderful memories from Pebble Beach, my shot of the day- with a chip in from the bunker on 17, playing with Gary Player who inspired me to drastically change my physical appearance, winning $10,000 for The First Tee with my partner Gary Player in the Coca Cola Shootout, the beauty of the Monterey Peninsula, but most all, the amazing people I met.

My tips for the juniors playing this year is to focus on and play, “one shot at a time”.  Don’t think about your previous shots or the one’s you will make later in the round.  Most importantly, don’t forget to relax and enjoy yourself.  Take it all in, this is an experience of a lifetime that you will always treasure.

The life and leadership skills and opportunities that The First Tee provided in my middle and high school years, prepared me for college in so many ways.  While attending Texas State University, I had the confidence to get involved with student organizations, that in turn enhanced my educational experience. One thing in particular that I used daily throughout college, and now in business, relates to the “one shot at a time” philosophy.  I always focus on the task at hand but with a greater goal in mind down the road.  Whether it be a lecture in class, writing a paper, a test, or managing your workday, take it one step at a time and those steps with help you reach your goals.

Leave a Reply

