• Recent Posts

Alumni Player Excited to Return to Pebble Beach

2006 Player, Adam Addams

The oh so beautiful Pebble Beach! It’s hard to find words to describe her, so I will start with my memories. My fondest memory of the course is looking at the leaderboard and seeing my name.  It sent chills down my spine!  I would never have thought that I would ever see my name on a Pebble Beach leaderboard.

The next is more sociable, when I got to meet some of the great golf legends and had a few sign my putter.  And playing  with Bill Murray, the man that immortalized the movie Caddy Shack.  He was so funny!  He made me think I was playing a round of golf with some friends, and not in a nationally televised tournament.  

Speaking of friends, I still remember when me and some friends that I met through The First Tee were rapping about our golf games in the pro-shop while looking for souvenirs. As we exited the pro-shop I just froze from the magnificence of the view.

If I were to give any advice for those that are playing Pebble Beach for their first time, is to try not to get distracted or overwhelmed with the course’s beauty.  It is literally so nice that you will lose focus of your game. One actual tip for the golfers is that the greens always slope towards the water, so keep that in mind and more putts will fall.

I really do miss the days when I was at my local Chicago Chapter learning different skills (golf and life) and hitting golf balls almost every day. Now that I am in college, I rarely have a chance to golf because I decided to focus on engineering. But, I can still see where The First Tee has helped me long after being an active member.

As an alumnus, I am often asked to speak at gatherings to tell how I am doing, and all I can say is great! Not only has The First Tee helped me financially with college, but they helped me prepare mentally for college. I have reflected on my life before and after The First Tee and I noticed that I have matured faster than my peers as well as having a cool and calm mind when facing obstacles. Socially, I have broken more out of my shell and been able to step up and take on leadership roles. I can confidently say I wouldn’t be where I am today if it weren’t for The First Tee.

Leave a Reply

